A Wintery Scene

December 1, 2013 § Leave a comment

I was asked to contribute an illustration for the monthly SCBWI newsletter here in San Diego.  A nice wintery scene.

I didn’t have anything already made up so I decided to take a sketch from my “ideas” file and work something up.

IMG_0122img459

img462

img464 color

After refining the sketch and playing around with the color, it was ready to go into Photoshop.  Many times I’ll paint some of it outside the computer and then scan it in.  This time I decided to do just the line of each element separately so I could color it and move it around until I got everything where I wanted it.  I love Photoshop that way.  I can change my mind about a color or sizing of an element without having to do the whole thing over.

img465

…And the finished piece…

winter_scene_smsinscreen72

all rights reserved – denise hilton campbell – 2013

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Wintery Scene at Denise Hilton Campbell ~.

meta

